Being Happy Means Never Having To Say You’re Sorry

A highly regarded businessman and I were walking into a meeting when we bumped into someone he knew.  “How are you?” they asked him.

“I’m good,” he said.  “I’m always good.” 

His friend laughed.  “You are always good!” they said.

Later, I asked him about that.  “So, you’re always good, huh?”

“I never tell anyone how I’m really doing,” he said quietly, “because it just doesn’t matter, and people don’t really care.”

I knew what he meant, but there is an exception.

An old friend of mine has a great response whenever people ask him how he’s doing.  He always, always lights up and says, “Today is the best day of my life!”  [This is important: I should note that he actually means it.  To him, every day truly is better than the last…and tomorrow will be even better.]

This gets a reaction, every time.  This starts conversations.  Everywhere he goes, people remember him.  All thanks to this one line: “Today is the best day of my life!”

In this world of pessimists and epic complainers, being unapologetically happy just might be the easiest way to set yourself apart, every time.

About centsmemory

My name is Kyle McCormick. If you have a deal you want to put together, or if you want your organization to operate more efficiently, let me know. I'd like to help.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.